Having faith in Twitter

I’ve discussed Twitter numerous times before, not because I think it’s the holy grail of social media, or because I feel it is an essential part of every marketing program (mainly because I don’t believe that this is the case), but because I believe it adds an essential human element to every cold and corporate marketing campaign.

Every brand needs a soft side, a side which doesn’t always say “buy me” but instead says “check out this picture of me, I have a stupid hat on”.  Ok, that’s a bad example which has forced me to write a “don’t talk about hats on your Twitter profile” blog post.. coming late 2009..

Anyway, onto what I want to talk about.  Religion.  As more and more celebrities jump on the Twitter band-wagon to self promote their latest movie/book/rehab story, and as more and more obscure companies join the crowd (adding thousands of profile’s to their watching list, in the vain hope that a few will return the favor..), a few surprising groups and individuals have joined the party.  Osama Bin Laden is an avid Twitterer, talking about his life in caves (mostly about rocks), his favourite food (rocks..) his seven wives, and his latest weapons of mass destruction (more rocks, with sharp bits on them).  There is, however, a theory that it’s not really him twittering, but I won’t let that ruin the story.  Moving on, Father Christmas, although busy over Christmas, had time to update us on his movements  (I guess he had his Blackberry set up for mobile posting).  Finally, Batman Twitters as he fights the bad guys of Gotham.

As the list grows, religions have begun to jump on board.  The office of the Dalai Lama has joined the community to keep their followers up to track with his grace’s (or his Excellency’s, or his Holiness’s. I’m not sure of his title) movements, thoughts and feelings.  It’s refreshing to see the personality and motivation behind another culture’s religious leaders, as I’ve never really thought about what they go through during their travels and work.

dalai-lama

This brings me back to my main point.  Whilst religions can feel separate from every day life, and their leaders can feel untouchable, Twitter has enabled them to interact with their followers in a new way that will surely reinvigorate their faith and devotion to their chosen religion.  It works for Marmite…

Explore posts in the same categories: Blue Root

Leave a Reply

